Photo Name Title Email
  Michael Andreasen Lecturer mandreas@uci.edu
Brauer Rogers
Emily Brauer Rogers Lecturer
Coordinator of Online Instruction and Online Technologies
ebrauer@uci.edu
  Danilo Caputo Lecturer dcaputo@uci.edu
  Ryan Chang Lecturer rchang6@uci.edu
Chieng
Chieh Chieng Lecturer cchieng@uci.edu
Collins
Rachael Collins Lecturer collins2@uci.edu
Danner
Keith Danner Lecturer kdanner@uci.edu
Delany-Ullman
Lorene Delany-Ullman Lecturer ldelanyu@uci.edu
Dubey
Jaya Dubey Lecturer jdubey@uci.edu
Eason
Loren Eason Lecturer leason@uci.edu
Eason
Kat Eason Lecturer keason@uci.edu
Ellis
Tagert Ellis Lecturer tellis@uci.edu
Fischer
Anita Fischer Lecturer afischer@uci.edu
Fitzjarrald
Lara Fitzjarrald Lecturer lfitzjar@uci.edu
Fonken
Brian Fonken Lecturer bfonken@uci.edu
  Jennifer Geraci Lecturer jgeraci@uci.edu
Gullaba
Alberto Gullaba Lecturer agullaba@uci.edu
Haas
Lynda Haas Lecturer lhaas@uci.edu
Hanson-Kegerreis
Sarah Hanson-Kegerreis Lecturer shanson@uci.edu
  Charlene Keeler Lecturer ckeeler@uci.edu
Keeperman
Jon Keeperman Lecturer jkeeperm@uci.edu
Keeperman
Tarah Keeperman Lecturer tkeeperm@uci.edu
  Doug Kiklowicz Lecturer dkiklowi@uci.edu
Kongshaug
Erik Kongshaug Lecturer kongshae@uci.edu
Lee
Justin Lee Lecturer justindl@uci.edu
Lerner
Scott Lerner Lecturer slerner1@uci.edu
Lewin
Kat Lewin Lecturer klewin@uci.edu
Lillmars
Bryce Lillmars Lecturer blillmar@uci.edu
McClure
Greg McClure Lecturer gmcclure@uci.edu
  Lowell Mckay Lecturer lmckay@uci.edu
  John Nieman Lecturer jnieman@uci.edu
Price
Darby Price Lecturer darbyp@uci.edu
Schulte
Julie Schulte Lecturer  
  Spencer Seward Lecturer sseward@uci.edu
Short
Gretchen Short Lecturer gkshort@uci.edu
Sims
Rick Sims Lecturer simsr@uci.edu
Smith-Newman
Julian Smith-Newman Lecturer jsmithne@uci.edu
Tonkovich
Andrew Tonkovich Lecturer atonkovi@uci.edu
  Yolanda Venegas Lecturer venegasy@uci.edu
Way
Jackie Way Lecturer jyway@uci.edu
Wells
Emily Wells Lecturer wellse@uci.edu
Winiarski
Catherine Winiarski Lecturer cwiniars@uci.edu
Zhuang
Jie Zhuang Lecturer zhuangj@uci.edu
Emily Brauer Rogers grew up on a farm in Indiana and moved to California to go to USC for her MFA in Dramatic Writing. She's had two full length plays, Searching for Americana and Hardcore: Women’s Reflections on Iraq produced as well as optioned Romeo, Juliet, and Rosaline to Amazon Studios with her writing partner, Koji Sakai. She's been published in a Smith and Kraus anthology, 161 Monologues from Literature and Kids Comedic Monologues that are Actually Funny. She has had several ten-minute and one act plays read and produced in San Diego, New York, Los Angeles, Orange County, Colorado, North Dakota, Missouri, Indiana, Australia, and England. She has taught WR 37, 39A, B, and C and 139W at UCI and has developed several online courses for UC Online Education. She currently serves as the Online and Instructional Technologies Coordinator for the Composition Program.

UCI Faculty Profile
Chieh Chieng is a lecturer in the UCI Composition Program and currently teaches Writing 39B. He was born in Hong Kong and received his MFA in fiction from UCI.
Keith Danner has worked at UCI since 2007.  He has taught Writing 37, Writing 39A, Writing 39B and Writing 39C.  He has also taught English 105:  Art or Propaganda – US Literature and the Great Depression, and English 8: Migration and Immigration in US Minority Literatures.  He has also served as Assistant Course Director for Writing 39B and Writing 39C, and is an active member of the American Federation of Teachers, Local 2226.

MA: M.F.A., English
Lorene Delany-Ullman’s book of prose poems, Camouflage for the Neighborhood, was the winner of the 2011 Sentence Award, and published by Firewheel Editions (December 2012). She recently published her poetry and creative nonfiction in Santa Monica Review, TAB: The Journal of Poetry & Poetics, Parentheses Journal, The Fourth River, and Concis: A Journal of Brevity. Her poems have been included in anthologies such as Orange County, A Literary Field Guide (Heyday Books, 2017), Bared, (Les Femmes Folles Books, 2017), Beyond Forgetting: Poetry and Prose about Alzheimer’s Disease (Kent State University Press, 2009) and Alternatives to Surrender (Plain View Press, 2007). She works in collaboration with artist, Jody Servon, on Saved: Objects of the Dead, a photographic and poetic exploration of the human experience of life, death, and memory.

UCI Faculty Profile

MA: University of Colorado, Boulder
In addition to teaching at UCI, Kat also writes under the name K. Eason. Her short fiction has appeared in Cabinet-des-Fées, Postcards from Hell: The First Thirteen, Jabberwocky 4, Crossed Genres, and Kaleidotrope. She has published the On the Bones of Gods trilogy, and her new novel, How Rory Thorne Destroyed the Multiverse, is forthcoming from DAW Books in October 2019.
Anita Fischer teaches WR 39 A, B, and C and WR37 at UCI. She is also a writer and editor, currently serving as managing editor for the journal SubStance. Besides reading and writing, she enjoys cooking, traveling, and tennis.
Lara is a lecturer in the Composition Department and currently teaches W39C. Her research interests include criminal justice, prison abolition, intersectional feminist coalitions, and transformative justice advocacy. She earned an MFA in Fiction from UC Irvine in 2018 and a BFA in textile art with a minor in Dance from San Francisco State University. She has taught beginning fiction, literary journalism, and W39B at UCI, and currently teaches Criminal Justice research and writing at CSULB. She is working on novel set in Los Angeles titled Radio Hill Gardens. Most of her work explores the interiority of mother/daughter relationships and urban themes involving gentrification, addiction, and birds.
Since completing his PhD in English at UC Irvine in 2015, Brian has taught in Composition and Humanities Core and worked at the campus Writing Center. His research agenda from his doctoral studies, which included nineteenth-century American culture and history, gothic writing, and political rhetoric, has led to a continued interest in interdisciplinary academic pursuits that involve rhetoric and writing.
Alberto Gullaba Jr. was born in Honokaa, Hawaii. As a child of a military family, he moved frequently. He earned his BA in Government and Foreign Affairs at the University of Virginia. As a member of Teach For America, he taught at an elementary school in Miami, Florida. He earned his MFA in Fiction here at UC Irvine, where he still teaches. He lives in Long Beach, California.
Ph.D: U of South Florida

MA: Mississippi College

Office Hours: Varies depending on quarter; please email me for details.

Dr Haas has been teaching Composition at UCI since 2000; she was formerly an Assistant Professor at Ithaca College and Hillsborough Community College. Right before she came to UCI, she spent a few years as the Director of Worldwide Advertising for a multi-national technology company based in California. Her writing has been published in several scholarly journals and she co-edited a book on Disney film entitled From Mouse to Mermaid.
Sarah is a lecturer in the Composition Program. She received her PhD in history in 2019 from UC Santa  Barbara, where she taught courses on academic writing and medieval European history. She is from the LA area and completed her BA at UCI.

UCI Faculty Profile
Tarah holds a BA in English from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and an MFA in Creative Writing from UC Irvine. Her stories have appeared in Electric Literature, the Santa Monica Review, Timber, and ROAR Magazine. She lives in Irvine.

MA: M.F.A. Creative Writing (Fiction) — University of California, Irvine
Justin teaches in the Composition Department at UC Irvine, where he earned an MFA in Creative Writing in 2014. His fiction and nonfiction has appeared in ZYZZYVA, Vice, The Saturday Evening Post, First Things, the Los Angeles Review of Books, ABC's Religion and Ethics, New Haven Review, The Smart Set, Amazon's Day One, FLAUNT Magazine, Juked, Gargoyle Magazine. The recipient of an Emerging Writers Grant from the Elizabeth George Foundation in 2016, Justin is a contributing columnist at The Independent and associate editor of Arc Digital.
Bryce received his MFA in Creative Writing - Poetry from UC Irvine in 2017. He teaches English Composition and Creative Writing and resides in Los Angeles.

UCI Faculty Profile

MA: MFA, Poetry, UC Irvine
Greg was raised in Seattle, but has lived in Southern California long enough for it to feel like home. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in English and an MFA in poetry from UC Irvine, and his work has appeared in The Susquehanna Review, Faultline, Zócalo Public Square, FLAUNT magazine, and Malibu Magazine. He lives, writes, and walks his dog in Irvine.
I have been teaching in UCI’s Composition Program for 19 years and the Humanities Core Course for 12. I received my PhD in English from UCI in 2000, specializing in 19th century American women’s writing. Currently I’m working with women’s narratives of Western emigration, in the time left over from being the mother of two young children.
Rick Sims earned a B.A. in English from UC Irvine in 2005, then went on to receive his M.F.A from UCI in 2009. Since then, he’s been teaching composition courses at UCI and other local colleges. He lives with his wife in Costa Mesa, CA.
Andrew Tonkovich edits the West Coast literary journal Santa Monica Review and writes for the Orange County Register and other local newspapers and magazines. His short fiction and essays have appeared in the Los Angeles Times, LA Review of Books, Ecotone, Faultline and Best American Nonrequired Reading. He received his MFA in Creative Writing from UCI and is the longest-serving Lecturer in the Department of English as well as president of University Council-American Federation of Teachers Local 2226, which represents Librarians and Lecturers at UCI.
Emily Wells teaches writing 39A, 39B, and 39C in the composition program at UCI. She received her MFA in creative writing from UC Riverside, where she also taught courses in English, philosophy, and fiction writing. She has worked as a journalist for over a decade, contributing to publications like Bookforum, Vogue, The Los Angeles Review of Books, and many others. She is currently writing her first book.
Catherine has taught Writing 39B and 39C at UCI since 2017, focusing on environmental literature, environmental justice issues, and animal studies.  She encourages her students to investigate and write about environmental issues related to their majors, their daily lives, and the lives of their communities.  Shakespeare and early modern literature are her other teaching and research interests, and she has recently published on biological, political, and cultural remainders and survivors in Shakespeare’s Titus Andronicus.  She graduated from the PhD program in Comparative Literature at UCI and has been teaching in the Humanities Core and Composition programs as a lecturer since 2014.  She also teaches writing at the community college in her hometown of Long Beach.

UCI Faculty Profile
PhD in English, UCI
TESOL Certificate, UCI
BA in English, UCB

Jie Zhuang is a lecturer at the University of California, Irvine, where she received her Ph.D. in English. Specializing in 18th-century literature, Gothic literature, and feminism, she has published articles on Jane Austen and female agency and has taught English literature and composition courses. She is currently teaching composition and conducting research on Composition/ESL pedagogy while continuing her passion for 18th-century British literature.